Luke Walker: Animal Stick Up For-Er ~ Book Review

“Why do they on’y care about some animals?”

~ Luke Walker

Synopsis

‘Luke Walker: Animal Stick Up For-Er’ by ‘Violet Plum’ brings to light, the hypocritical world, where some animals are valued more than others. Luke Walker, an eight-year-old boy sets his mind to make a change.

His rebellious and non-conformative behavior leads him to ask many questions and make bold decisions such as stop eating meat and boycotting leather shoes and woolen garments. Young Luke admires Robin Hood, and sees himself as an outlaw, who is ready to save the animals from the tyrannies of the people! He is willing to stick up for animals even at the cost of getting into real trouble!

Throughout the book, Luke changes the point of view of how one’s sees the animal industry. He was even successful at making his friends and family vegan! 

You will read the book to find each chapter a perfect example of how we humans make animals suffer, take the delicate balance of nature for granted, and continue to exploit it.
This book offers us the choices to be more cooperative with nature.

Review

Firstly I would like to thank the author, Violet Plum, to send me a copy of this wonderful book! You can check out Violet’s amazing website here.

This book really had an impact on me and made me consider my choices. I am a vegetarian, but the idea of little calves snatched away from their mum in the milk industry, really breaks my heart.

This book also portrays the beautiful days of childhood which all of us can relate to. Trying to fly kites on a windless sky, eating gobstoppers, and shoving the swings at the top of their frames!

The author was really sharp in her views against the crimes humans commit against animals. How the speechless creatures can do nothing but suffer. She used the words such as ‘animals’ and ‘flesh food’ instead of ‘meat’.

The book’s beautiful illustrations can’t go without a mention! They are all hand-drawn, which really makes the book pretty alluring. The cover makes the reader feel that it must be one of his/her own childhood art!

Children reading this book will surely be inspired to speak out for animals. It will germinate in them the seeds of a confident personality. This book can surely teach young readers that standing alone does not necessarily mean you are wrong!

The best part about this book is, that it is not preachy, but mocks this Janus-faced world through its humor. You will find this book, not a lecture but it will open your mind to the harsh realities.

This book is definitely a must-read, and will surely arouse in you the want of being vegan!

Rating: 4.5/5

Age: For all

Pages: 179 

Author: Violet Plum

~Arnav Gupta

Published by BookWorm

that's right.

10 thoughts on “Luke Walker: Animal Stick Up For-Er ~ Book Review

  1. Arnav – you have made me so happy! Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I treasure it. I can’t tell you how glad I am that you like the Luke Walker stories. I wrote them because I think most children question eating meat when they’re little, but are often discouraged from pursuing their concerns by parents and other adults who tell them it is normal and “humane”. For example, I was on a crowded train about ten years ago, standing by the door, looking out the window at the passing countryside, and a little boy about five years old started talking to me. He told me how much he loved all the animals he could see in the fields we passed. He told me “I love the horses, and the pigs, and sheep, and the cows”. He was beaming with delight and I smiled back at him and agreed that I loved them too. Then he turned back to his dad who was standing nearby and told him how much he loved the lambs he’d just seen. His parents both laughed and his dad said, “oh yeah, you love the lamb on your plate don’t you?” The boy looked crestfallen and said quietly as he looked at me, “I don’t want them to be killed. It’s unkind.” I nodded but there was nothing I could say. I wanted to encourage him more, to tell him he was right and his parents were wrong. But I couldn’t because he didn’t step back over to me. He was a stranger on a train who I would never see again. I could only hope that he would hang on to his compassionate instincts and not be swayed by his less enlightened family.

    So I hope that children will find Luke Walker, enjoy his rebellious and funny adventures, and be inspired by his bold compassion to do as he does, and know that they are right.

    Your review, therefore, means the world to me. Thank you ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s my pleasure😁 I am always ready to read such heart-touching books! You are absolutely right, children must be educated from the very start about this sad ‘way of life’.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started